Halal Certification

Halal Certifiation on our products

To ensure that our Halal products are certified according to Halal requirements. We follow the strict procedures required to get certification for Halal.

The ingredients must be free from anything prohibited explicitly by Islamic law (e.g. Pork products).

The ingredients must be stored and manufactured using equipment cleaned according to Islamic law.

We are registered with a Halal Certified Authority to get the stamp of approval on the product. We proudly display this stamp of approval on all our Halal Products, giving you an extra layer of assurance that we care about you getting the correct product.

What is Halal?

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above product

Additional Information regarding the slaughtering process in New Zealand.